nasw and nasw foundation awards

the nasw and nasw foundation awards recognize leaders in the profession and in our communities who fully embody social work values and ethics. our past award recipients have accomplished the extraordinary and we have been honored to recognize them.


nominations for the next award cycle closed december 2, 2021.  

a night at the awards, a night to remember

friday, june 24, 2022
5:00 pm – 7:00 pm et award ceremony & reception

business attire

nasw and the nasw foundation present a celebration of social work excellence. join us for an unforgettable evening honoring the recipients of the prestigious nasw and nasw foundation awards, recognizing individuals whose work has left an imprint in social work leadership, policy 世界杯入围名单2022 and social change.
learn more and register for "a night at the awards"

award categories

we need your participation to keep the tradition moving forward. please consider nominating a social worker or individual who exemplifies the best of the profession’s values for one of the following awards:

  • a professional social worker who has made significant contributions or developed model programs that have been replicated for social worker of the year or lifetime achievement
  • an individual who has gone above and beyond in their community for public citizen of the year
  • an elected official who has shown leadership in public policy issues important to the profession for public elected official of the year
  • a social worker who is at the beginning phase of their career (five years post graduate) and who has demonstrated outstanding leadership as a developing professional for the emerging social work leader.
  • a professional social worker who has made exemplary contributions in health and mental health practice for knee/wittman lifetime achievement
  • an individual or group that has made a significant impact on national mental health public policy, professional standards, or program models for knee/wittman outstanding achievement
  • an individual, group, or organization that has significantly advanced the public image of professional social work for the international rhoda g. sarnat award


please contact us at or 202-336-8270.

to learn more about the nasw foundation awards, please visit the foundation's website

awards logo

2022 distinguished awardees

  • emerging social work leader
    monique bingham, msw, asw
  • public citizen of the year
    dan broyles, lmft
  • social worker of the year
    patrice a. palmer, dd, cdka, msw, lsw
  • lifetime achievement award
    nancy d. miller, lmsw
  • public elected official of the year
    the late honorable congressman john lewis
  • knee/wittman lifetime achievement
    denise juliano-bult, msw
  • knee/wittman outstanding achievement
    the honorable deputy secretary andrea palm, msw
  • international rhoda g. sarnat award
    silas w. kelly, lmsw